Columbine

columbine-3

Glowing in her bonnet-
Glowing in her cheek-
Glowing is her Kirtle-
Yet she cannot speak.

Better as the Daisy
From the summer hill
Vanish unrecorded
Save by tearful rill-

Save by loving sunrise
Looking for her face.
Save by feet unnumbered
Pausing at the place.

Emily Dickinson

These are my Columbine I planted this Spring–the 10th anniversary of Columbine.

columbine-5

My children think it’s simply a flower–and nothing else. And that makes me very happy.

columbine-4

Because no flower should come to mean something other than what it is–hope, love, rebirth, survival, and beauty. Emily loved this flower–which grew in the New England woodlands. She grew it in her own garden.

columbine

I have these wonderful Columbine in my garden this year. They are lovely. I hope to get to know them better through many seasons in this home. And I hope that one day, like my kids, I only see the flower.

10 responses to “Columbine

  1. Wow, that is really neat. I was just reading about Columbine this morning on the internet. I can’t believe 10 years have passed. Tony and I did some planting yesterday. We bought a lilac bush like the one you bought Mom. We bought a huge planter from Costco and planted it in it. Later we’ll plant it in our yard.

    • emilydickinsonsgarden

      Yes, it makes it scary to send your kids to school. If any good has come of it, it’s that the schools take bullying and threats more seriously now. When the Columbine tragedy occurred–I didn’t have any idea about the flower. I remember someone saying that it was flower and thinking–how sad–at the time.

      I asked my kids about it–the flower–the name–they looked at me like I was crazy. Okay, mom, it’s a flower–what’s the big deal.

      How is it they haven’t heard of the tragedy? (They’re not allowed to watch tv–maybe that helps). Has ten years put that much distance between it and them. Apparently so, and that’s a very good thing because it is a wonderful flower. I LOVE it. It goes in my “LOVE” column–which is getting quite full.

    • emilydickinsonsgarden

      btw, I want to see your lilac! That’s going to be beautiful. I want to plant a few on the way out to the barn, too–and APPLE trees. 🙂

  2. What a thoughtful thing to do and what a beautiful plant.

    • emilydickinsonsgarden

      The books and Emily Dickinson’s poetry have made me more thoughtful about flowers, for sure. I think about them all the time. When I read about Columbine in Marta’s book, I knew instantly that I had to get some. It is so important for me to know the flower better than the tragedy someday.

  3. I thought about the Columbine students today and how they would more than likely have finished college by now had they lived. Oh it is such a tragedy still in so many ways. Linda, there is a part of me that would like to always see these students associated with that beautiful flower. It feels like they deserve that much.

  4. emilydickinsonsgarden

    That’s a good point, Joanne–not the cruel act itself, but the spirits that were lost there. That flower as a memorial to them is perfectly consistent. I think when I hear “Columbine” I think of violence–but I can choose to think of it as a beautiful flower and a reminder of them.

  5. beautiful words…you touched my heart today

    madamerkf at aol dot com

  6. What a great way to remember everyone involved in this tragedy. Flowers can help heal without saying a word.

    • emilydickinsonsgarden

      I think you’re right. I imagine that’s why we love to receive a bouquet of flowers in our worst times. During the hardest times of my life, I’ve craved flowers. They heal–just as you said. And, I think it’s universal.

Leave a Reply

