Winner of Book Give-away!

Congratulations to Joanne of Whole Latte Life, who has won my belated book-giveaway! I’ll get in contact with you to arrange shipping. Hope you enjoy it as much as I have–which is “a whole latte’!” (as you would say!)

As for my garden, it is still in holding motion, so I haven’t felt the poetry lately. The sprinkler system was put on hold for company and I’m trying hard to keep everything alive by hand. Not an easy task.

We’ve lost 3 Plum trees, 2 Poplar and 1 Willow. However, the Bleeding Heart came back! It’s thriving.

Sad news. We won’t be getting a hay crop in this year. The Extension Agency recommends we spend the Summer and Fall getting the weeds under control and fertilizing. Farming can be a hard way of life until you get the land back to a healthy state.

How are your gardens coming along?

2 responses to “Winner of Book Give-away!

  1. Yay, I’m so happy to win! It’s always, always nice to hear good news. But I am sorry about the trees you lost. Do you know why they didn’t make it? Our gardens are planted and tiny seedlings right now. For the vegetable garden – 12 Jet Star tomato plants, a few sweet pepper, zucchini, eggplant and lettuce. Ringed with marigolds to attract bees for pollination and repel mosquitoes (supposedly, but I doubt it). And my daughters planted their annual zinnia patch outside the kitchen window, and the deck pots are all planted and settling in. It seems like they go through a week or two of transplant shock before they really perk up. Hope your sprinkler system is working soon!

  2. emilydickinsonsgarden

    Wow! That’s quite a garden. I’m looking forward to pictures when you start to harvest your vegetables and the flowers take off! I bet it will be beautiful.

    I’m not sure why we lost the trees. Those particular ones were struggling already with bark damage or just being slow growing. I think all of the trees got a little stressed with drought after my husband unhooked our existing drip line. He unhooked it to do the new sprinkler system, but I think he forgot he’d done that, and so for a while they weren’t getting water. 😦

    Congratulations on winning the book!! I do think you’ll like it. Can you send your address to me via my email? I’ll get it to you asap. 🙂

Leave a Reply

