The Conservatory, Emily Dickinson’s Herbarium, & A New Office

I thought today it would be fun to take a little tour. The last time I shared pictures of the sunroom/conservatory, it was being finished, but not lived in. Now it’s been worn in a little–geraniums, having survived the winter inside, are flowering and peeking out the windows–I want to play outside, I want to play outside–they’re like little kids. My favorite reading chair with the fur I cuddle up in. Our cigars, pipe tobacco, and books. And the heater that kept it toasty all through the bitter cold days of winter. It is an absolutely lovely creative space that has refreshed my soul through the “darkest” days. Now, things are starting to green and grow in the back garden–tulips and hyacinth making their way up slowly.

And THE book, Emily Dickinson’s Herbarium (detailed post later)–I find it ironic that in the era of the Kindle and cheap books, My wish list contains a hand full that equal about $1,000 combined.  But you know, if they’re all like this one, they’re worth every penny.

And last, a few days ago my son asked to have the old maple desk taken out of his room so he’d have more space.  We brought it upstairs while we decided its fate.  My husband said, Get rid of it!  But I thought differently.  I decided to sand it, paint it black, then distress it to match my piano.  Essentially, I made my music room into an office.  I can’t tell you how much I love the change.  All my favorite reference books, my piano, my piano books, and my favorite stained glass window (you may remember it from a few years ago).  It inspires me.

Now I’m going to find or make a short but long book shelf to go on the other side of the room and house all my favorite reading books.  Here are some pictures of the room and desk (finished yesterday).

Did you know Emily Dickinson played piano?

 

6 responses to “The Conservatory, Emily Dickinson’s Herbarium, & A New Office

  1. I’m honored to appear in your stack of books and in such a lovely room.

    • emilydickinsonsgarden

      Marta, I’m sure you don’t have any idea how much your book meant to me as I planned my garden–my “poetic space”. It was the absolute perfect combination of practical gardening advice and Emily Dickinson–a treasure I still continue to refer to, as you can see. It really ignited my love of gardening AND Emily Dickinson and has created a desire in me to know more and more. Thank you for stopping by–it’s an honor!

  2. Hm, I was looking at that stack of books for another familiar one, well, oh never mind 😦

    Just kidding, Linda. Your home is gorgeous, with so much inspiration to creativity, from the piano to the flowers to the books and just the whole atmosphere. And that desk, wow. If I lived closer, I’d have to come over just to write for awhile, with the horses outside the window …

    • emilydickinsonsgarden

      Ha! Joanne, you know I LOVE your book, Whole Latte Life, and it SHOULD be in the picture, too.

      As it is, I tried to make it a “work station”. I moved all my reference books over to the desk from other spots on my bookshelves. I have four themes represented for my research: gardening & Emily Dickinson, TTouch (for horses), Poetry writing manual (by Mary Oliver) and Too Soon Old, Too Late Smart—part of my research for my husband’s upcoming book about changing your brain and changing your life.

      There’s a place on the opposite wall where I’m going to install a short bookshelf this weekend and have ONLY my favorite books…yours will be displayed prominently there.

      And, anytime you’re in Spokane….

  3. I like the name of your husband’s next book, very catchy and an intriguing topic too.

    • emilydickinsonsgarden

      It’s the topic of our lives, quite honestly. We’ve lived it, preached it, and for that matter, it’s also the subject of YOUR blog. This book will be all about wisdom for living your life with passion–never letting anyone tell you you’re not “gifted enough”…that you’ve made too many mistakes to live a valuable life…it will be all about clinging to who you are and learning to develop that special calling. Your brain doesn’t change you, you change your brain, but it’s much more than that, too.

Leave a Reply

