Is My Forsythia Dead?

Remember my last year’s plan for the east side of the house?

I planted a Royal Star Magnolia with white blossoms in front, with a back-splash of yellow Forsythia.

However, my well-laid plans may not materialize. I went out to check the Forsythia, which should soon be in bloom, and the branches are dry. I snapped off several and not a bit of life in there!

Are they dead?

The Royal Star Magnolia, however, is doing its job. It survived our mild winter and is budding out.

Hmmmm….I may have to run to the store and plant new Forsythia bushes if I’m to reap the beautiful harvest of my ’09 green dreams. In particular, I think I’ll look for the variety, Meadowlark, which grows 8-10 feet tall.

2 responses to “Is My Forsythia Dead?

  1. Our forsythia here bloom around mid April. When do yours generally bloom? Can they just still be dormant from the winter months?

  2. emilydickinsonsgarden

    I called a nursery today and they said they bloom here around mid-April, too. But they should have a bit of green in the branch–these are dry. 😦 She’s pretty sure the branches have died, which surprises her since the winter was so mild, but she suggested that I leave them alone and see if there’s new growth from the roots.

Leave a comment